Taranaki Regional Council.

The Taranaki Regional Council's prime responsibility is to manage the use, development and protection of our natural and physical resources for the present and future benefit of Taranaki.

We live by our motto, "Working with people, caring for Taranaki". Besides developing, monitoring and enforcing regional rules around the use of core resources, an important part of our work involves getting alongside landowners, industry, community groups and individuals to take practical actions to protect and improve the environment.

We also run Civil Defence for the region, and we lead the regional push to ensure Taranaki gets the highway network and other transport infrastructure it needs.

We own and administer three large public gardens, and we are the 100% shareholders of Port Taranaki Limited.

Our jurisdiction extends from Mohakatino in the north to Waitotara in the south, from Cape Egmont in the west to Pohokura Saddle in the east.

Our 11 Councillors are elected from four constituencies - North Taranaki (two), New Plymouth (five), Stratford (one) and South Taranaki (three).


For up to date news form the Taranaki Regional Council click here


Click here to view their website